25 and Counting…

August 23rd, 2013 – Today is the last day of camp. The view from my office window is of a beautiful blue sky, white church and Swasey Parkway in Exeter. I am imagining the “hub-bub” of camp as another wonderful season ends. Children’s excited chatter, camp songs, staff Hi-Fives and bugles soon fade. The transition from camp to school age child care comes again like the swing of the pendulum.

I have been blessed to be a part of this magic for 25 years. I have experienced up close the sights and sounds, smells and dust of camp. I have watched campers become staff, my own children included. I have shared the joy as a few staff became husband and wife and then parents. I watched from my window as the staff “kids” and hundreds of campers grow each year learning the lessons of nature from the shores of Kingston Lake.

Within my job description I have been able to dabble in my gardening hobby – yes, hard at work at the Y. I was extremely surprised this summer at the July Community Night to be honored for those 25 years of service. Rob spoke of all the people’s lives I have touched, but I see the flip side. I have so many memories of all the children, parents and staff that have touched my life. Some have passed through for new adventures while others are forever friends. My rock adorns one of the gardens for all to see – thank you!

Southern District YMCA/Camp Lincoln has grown so over 25 years! I arrived to a small summer camp and just a few school age child care programs. Slow and steady we have progressed, added and improved to become the amazing organization we are today. The YMCA foundation is built on the roots of Honesty, Responsibility, Caring and Respect and they have served us well. Just as my office view has changed from the up close and personal of camp to the expansive landscape of Exeter and beyond, the vision of our Y is extensive and expanding. Be it camping, child care, outdoor education or building a new facility, I can only imagine the positive influence SD YMCA will extend to the community in the years to come. Year #26 … bring it on!

Written By Beverly Bowles

Southern District YMCA Office Manager

Beverly Bowles

3 thoughts on “25 and Counting…

  1. Who better to describe the last 25 years of growth at SD YMCA. Like the garden that now displays a truly deserved etched stone but the ROCK who holds it all together…that’s you Bev. ❤

Leave a Reply

