Wedding Bells at Camp Lincoln

It was around age 7 that I had my first Camp Lincoln experience.  My mom got a new job and my brother and I needed somewhere to go for the summer. When my mom told me we were going to be attending summer camp, I could not have been more excited! Swimming, canoeing, ropes course, archery, crafts…is there a better way to spend your summer than that?

After years of the best summers of my life as a camper, I became a C.I.T (counselor in training) and was privileged to meet and learn with many individuals with whom I created lifelong friendships. Being part of the C.I.T program was my favorite part of Camp Lincoln. Many of us stayed from the first day of summer, until the last.

Coming back for many summers as a counselor was great. When it was time to apply for college, camp really inspired me. The core values that we learned and taught each day at the YMCA were caring, respect, responsibility, and honesty. My college application essay was all about how important these values are to my life.

During the summer of 2005, one of my fellow C.I.T friends brought his college roommate, Ryan, to join the Camp Lincoln team. Ryan and I became great friends, and we got married on September 29, 2012! We decided to go back to the place we met, beautiful camp, to take some of our wedding pictures.

I’m currently working for the YMCA as the Site Director of the Danville School’s School Age Child Care Program. On top of that, I work in the Danville Elementary School as an ASD Tutor (Autism Spectrum Disorder). Camp was fun! I had some of the best days of my childhood as a camper. I created genuine and lifelong friendships, and met my husband! The core values of the YMCA have continued to be the values of my day to day life. Camp helped make me into the kind of person that wakes up each morning with a goal to keep these values alive in the children that I work with each day.

Written by Jessie DeBlois (Forsblad)

Jessie and Ryan

One thought on “Wedding Bells at Camp Lincoln

Leave a Reply

